2017 Archer Leaders Announced!

In an unprecedented move, the Kokoda Track Foundation awarded 7 Archer Leadership Scholarships in its 7th year of running the program at a cocktail function in Port Moresby last night. The 2017 Archer Leaders were announced by His Excellency Bruce Davis, High Commissioner to Papua New Guinea, among a range of corporate partners, friends and family.

The 2017 Archer Leaders are: Methuselah Wabiria, Hela Province, UPNG; Samantha Mosoro, East Sepik Province, UPNG; Cayllan Boeha, New Ireland Province, UPNG; Eileen-May Murepe, Gulf Province, UPNG; Len Awinup, Western Province, UNITECH; Lydia Dimokari, Milne Bay Province, UPNG; and Joshua Sialis, Milne Bay Province, UPNG.

“The 2017 Archer Leaders are an absolutely extraordinary group” said Dr Genevieve Nelson, CEO of KTF. “The decision this year was the toughest we have ever had to make; and therefore, in an unprecedented move, we increased the number of Archer Leaders to seven”.

The 2016 Archer Leaders also graduated from their yearlong leadership development programme at the ceremony in Port Moresby. Jerome Sesega reflected on their year in front of guests: “The Archer Leadership development program is life-changing. I can sincerely say on behalf of all my fellow graduates that it has set us on a new trajectory. We met with people we would never normally meet – CEOs, CFOs, politicians, heads of NGOs.”

The Australian High Commissioner congratulated the 2016 Archer Graduates and the 2017 Archer Leaders and spent time meeting with and getting to know the alumni.

The Archer Leaders Program is a nation-wide program open to all final year tertiary students across PNG. Scholarship recipients participate in mentoring, tuition & boarding fees, educational & professional development resource support, work experience, community projects, and a leadership exchange to Australia. It is generously funded by the Fred P. Archer estate, managed by Perpetual Trustees.